When you don’t realise what the problem is

I’m one of those people who can’t always identify what is upsetting or worrying me.

Something I thought was just a niggle turned out to be much more than that when I finally managed to overcome it this week.

I live in a big old house with lots of steps – only the well insulated extension is wheelchair friendly, so that’s where my severely disabled daughter spends most of her time when she is at home.

The worst time is at night, when I have to leave her downstairs and go up to bed. She seems so vulnerable down there on her own, even with an impressive array of alarms and locks and a baby monitor. But I was finding it increasingly difficult to get out of bed into a freezing cold room and stumble down two flights of stairs in the middle of the night to find out what she needed. Sometimes I’d do it over and over again. So I usually went to bed feeling stressed, slept with one ear permanently glued to the baby monitor and woke up stressed too.

Finally this week it proved possible to sleep downstairs, just the other side of the partition from her, and in the warmest room in the house.

So on Tuesday morning I woke up refreshed and calmer than I have in a long time. Of course life had other plans and I then got hit with three bits of bad news that day. But I coped, and that’s an improvement too.

Other reasons to be cheerful for this week:

B’s bus driver bringing in my bins for me. A wonderful random act of kindness that he does regularly.

The father of my lodger installing my new oven – so that Christmas can actually happen here (the old one gave up half way through baking a birthday cake in October).

My eldest daughter bringing chocolate home for me after a difficult day.

The GP telling me I didn’t need another scope just a higher dose of medicine, and it’s working too. Terrified of how I’d manage the scope with no respite.

A long overdue coffee meet up with a friend, and B came too.

A successful protest outside the Irish Parliament with my daughter and other disability advocates, but sadly very little media coverage.

disability-protest-leinster-house-december-2016

Publishing a great post by a disability advocate about Ireland’s failure to ratify the UN Convention on the Rights of People with disabilities on another blog to widen its readership. It was a great to help and feel useful and competent!

Bringing B to visit a community disability hub in a nearby town – a base from where a small number of people with disabilities can access community life, which is supposed to replace day services in Ireland. I also got the chance to properly meet an autism mum who I’ve always admired. More on the hub when I have time to write about it properly.

Coffee and cheesecake outside last Sunday with B.

I have decided that my Christmas present to myself will be to uncancel my cancelled gym membership. In my defence I did look at gyms that appeared to be cheaper and would be quicker to get to, but they were mostly grim and not cheaper if I was to get the help I need to keep going. This helped too ha ha!

Milon, ICON gym, .png

More Reasons to be Cheerful over at Lakes Single Mum who is hosting this linky for December.

 

2 thoughts on “When you don’t realise what the problem is

  1. Nice position on the leaderboard and hurray for a good and warm night’s sleep. Sorry about your bad news though. Such a shame about the lack of media coverage for the protest, that’s infuriating. Sounds like the lodger is working out very well. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

