A bang on the head brought me to my senses

I don’t know if you know much about disability equipment? It’s designed for disabled people, but not particularly for the carers who use (and clean) it. Especially not carers who are stressed and tired.

The accident happened on Monday night while I was hoisting my disabled daughter B. I leaned over too far and too quickly and hit my head on a metal bolt. And for the first time in many years, I actually acquired an egg on my forehead, luckily hideable with my fringe!

It made me think. It made me realise how badly I needed a break – before something else happened. And the universe answered.

On Tuesday I got one: an empty house during school hours and no commitments. So after ticking off a few chores, I went for a run and even spent a quiet half hour reading a book – in a hidden corner obviously, just in case anyone came home and caught me! Mammy guilt is never far away…. Thursday was very similar, which means I’m recharged and ready for whatever the Easter holidays throw at me. Well hopefully! The egg is not very sore now, anyway.

Since this is also supposed to be a reasons to be cheerful post, here are some more:

Reasons to be cheerful 6.4.17

A lovely and unexpected Mother’s Day gift from B.

An evening watching Star Wars with the teen, followed by 7 hours sleep with only 2 interruptions. Bliss.

Going out at night without a babysitter. Because for the first time ever I brought B with me. It worked because I have lovely friends, we went out early evening, and I made sure that food and dessert were included. Something else I hope to do more of in the future.

I also jogged down O’Connell Street without feeling like a freak as the quickest way of getting to yet another disability protest. For non-Irish people, O’Connell Street is one of the busiest and most important streets in central Dublin.

I made the most delicious healthy Brownies ever, and ALL my children enjoyed them.

I hope you had a good week too, and head over to Lakes Single Mum for more reasons to be cheerful.

 

 

5 thoughts on “A bang on the head brought me to my senses

Leave a Reply

