A Family Affair at the Mini Marathon

How to explain the Mini Marathon and why it’s so loved by so many women? After all, isn’t it just a 10K race that takes place every June Bank Holiday weekend through the streets of Dublin?

Yet it’s so much more than that.

For me the highlight is the countdown to the start, with the nervous smiles among the runners, the anticipation, the watches being checked, water bottles discarded, goosebumps from the strains of Sisters, are doing it for themselves, and knowing there’s 30,000 more women at your back.

The Start Line, Mini Marathon 2017,

You feel like you’re part of something.

And you are.

It’s the biggest women only race in the world and one of the biggest charity fundraisers in the Irish calendar.

I’ve probably told you before that I ran it many times in the past, until life got too complicated! And that my first attempt was in 1992 when I was 5 months pregnant with my eldest. This week she walked it pushing her disabled sister, with the help of a couple of friends. And despite the rain that set in as I finished and they reached half way, we all loved the experience.

For me, almost everything went right. I wasn’t feeling well, but with the help of a really fast course, I crossed the line in a very satisfying 57 minutes and 15 seconds. Which means I qualify to enter as a runner again next year. And if I can keep that up, I will do it every year (once I have someone to mind my disabled daughter – or push her round for me).

And having something special to look forward to every June from now on is my  reason to be cheerful for this week. Head over to Lakes Single Mum for more.

8 thoughts on “A Family Affair at the Mini Marathon

  1. I am always amazed at how much you actually manage to fit into your life. I wish I enjoyed running but I seem to have missed out on that gene. My school cross country was just an excuse for me to have a sly cigarette and so perhaps I need to rethink the association of running/cigarettes! I have started the Couch to 5K about ten times and got two weeks in before giving up! Any tips much appreciated. Well done on your time, I would be looking at 57 hours, not minutes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think running is for everyone, but I do think there’s some kind of exercise for each person – I tried yoga, dancing and more in recent years, but when I got the chance to run with a running group again, I realised it was still the sport for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

