Sticking my old head in the sand and having fun doing it

I *may* have mentioned that I have a fairly scary birthday coming up soon, and I am in complete denial. I’m in fear that I may have to begin acting my age, wearing beige cardigans, and going to Neil Diamond concerts (not my thing, apologies if it’s yours). So if this post seems a little crazy, that’s why. I’m having a last hurrah, with the expectation of old age descending like a metal shutter some time next week…

In the meantime, I have all these reasons to be cheerful:

…My disabled and non-verbal daughter B clearly said ‘mum’. I don’t know if it was a word or just a sound but it was lovely to hear.

…Being asked if I was B’s sister at a communion party – it’s amazing what long hair and sunglasses can hide!

…The house now has two ramps for B, so she can enter and exit through the front door, like everyone else. And she’s enjoying it too.

…A flower in bloom, one I planted myself, and trained up a trellis that I put up myself, with the help of my eldest daughter and a drill.

Bloom, flower,, clematis, trellis.png

…Beating the kids at a fitness challenge at a local Family Fun Day, and B loving every minute of it.

Smiley, B, disabled daughter,

…Climbing the Wishing Tree on the top of the Hill of Tara to tie a wish for a friend, after much coffee, madness and cake…

If you enjoyed reading this, why not head over to Mummy from the Heart for more reasons to be cheerful.

 

6 thoughts on “Sticking my old head in the sand and having fun doing it

  1. B is looking very cheerful and I see she is clutching her little Tiger basket, so cool she said Mum. I am now wondering about the birthday though as didn’t you, Val and Rachel have a major one only about 5 minutes ago? Mich x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL, yes we did. I’m not bothered about this one and I keep thinking that maybe Candi packed so much into the past five years that she’s reached the next decade five years early.

        Like

  2. Sticking my head in the sand is one of my favourite sports. How fabulous to hear B say ‘mum’. I hope she does it again. Have a good week. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

