Outdoor fun for disabled kids with Rabbits and Runners

Disclosure: this is NOT an ad, NOT a paid review etc etc

I could have been packing for a week away, I was that laden down. The buggy was full, the buggy bag was full, and so was my new Mia Tui rucksack (which I can confirm is perfect for running!). Actually my disabled daughter and I were just going to Malahide Castle for a Saturday morning supported walk/run with a new group called Rabbits and Runners. But as usual I didn’t know what to expect, so I was prepared for anything.

You may have noticed that I’m back running again, and that I’ve also run while pushing my disabled daughter’s chair, and I’m sure I’ve made promises on here to take her running regularly, but it just hasn’t happened…

It always seems too hard.

I could always find something else to do.

Until last Saturday.

A friend had mentioned Rabbits and Runners, and I had nothing on that morning, so the two of us headed out to Malahide for 10.30 am.

As usual, bringing my severely disabled daughter to a new event made me feel anxious. Would it work? Would she like it? Would it be truly wheelchair accessible? Would we really be supported?

Well I can tell you now that the answers to those questions were Yes, Yes, Yes and Yes.

The worries I had melted away as I pushed her chair into the Avoca courtyard and a member of the Rabbits and Runners team found us, welcomed us, and immediately put us both at ease.

So what are Rabbits and Runners? Well they are a new volunteer group of young people trying to make a difference. They are organising monthly meet ups following the 5K Parkrun event at Malahide Castle. They use the same route, and support special needs children (and adults) and their families to get around the course in any way that works.

B and I were at the front (of course) and members of the team took turns to push her while I jogged alongside and chatted to her. As did anyone we passed or met along the way. She LOVED all the extra attention, and we both enjoyed the fresh air, exercise and pleasant company.

For me it was a joy to feel supported in a way that is rare. Usually it feels like it’s just me doing everything and responsible for everything.  Especially when we leave the house. On Saturday morning the load was shared, and that was a wonderful thing.

B and I loved Rabbits and Runners and want to go again, but the group needs more families to take part to make it worthwhile – so why not give it a try?

Find our more about the group on Facebook by clicking on the link below:

https://www.facebook.com/rabbitsandrunners/

 

 

7 thoughts on “Outdoor fun for disabled kids with Rabbits and Runners

  1. I should also mention that Kinder Eggs were provided for the children, and everyone else went for brunch in Avoca afterwards (we had to go home so my daughter could use the toilet)

    Like

Leave a Reply

