The tale of the nails, the maze, the box and the pillow

My disabled daughter’s social worker once asked me to name the one thing that would make our lives easier.

“A handyman,” I replied.

It was not the answer she expected, and she never got back to me with any contacts!

For now I continue to muddle through the endless breakages, breakdowns, problems and issues associated with living in a very old house, with some help from friends and family.

I was reminded of that conversation this week when the shower riser rail crashed to floor and luckily no-one was in it at the time.

I’ve fixed it for now with three nails and some Duct tape. I’ve no illusions about this being a permanent solution, but I don’t even know who to ask for help, as I don’t want to pay for a plumber and I’ve still no handyman. But feeling cheerful that it’s safe to use once again .

And I’ve a few more reasons too:

The Maze

Ok, so I wrote about our trip to Kildare Maze earlier in the week, but the excuse to get out and enjoy a road trip and some real countryside and fresh air made me giddy and happy too!

The Box

My disabled daughter B never fails to surprise me. I knew something was up when I heard the giggle that told me she was doing something ‘naughty’. Well not really, but I played along anyway. I’d sellotaped a box to her tray to help support her elbow and make it easier for her to feed herself. It wasn’t very successful idea. But when my back was turned she managed to pull it away, and began trying to open it. It took her 20 minutes to do what she wanted, due to her limited hand function, but eventually she succeeded.

one
If I can’t see you, you can’t see what I’m doing!
Two
Will this work?
Three
Or this?
Four
I think I’ve solved the problem…
Five
But I don’t actually want the silly pink tray
Six .png
At last, I’ve done it!

Sleep

It was obviously too soon to announce that my sleep problems were over. Too much much to do and B getting a bout of constipation meant I’ve been struggling to string a sensible sentence together for the past week. But not on Saturday. Seven hours of unbroken sleep and I had my most productive day in a long time – without ignoring the needs of the children either.

Hope you have lots of reasons to be cheerful too this week, and head over to Mummy from the Heart for more.

R2BC at Mummy from the Heart

3 thoughts on “The tale of the nails, the maze, the box and the pillow

  1. 7 hours of unbroken sleep when you have been going without is a massive R2BC and I lve the idea of B giggling away as she attacks your make-shift elbow rest. Have a good week with lots of sleep. Mich x

    Like

  2. I have a handyman – my neighbour upstairs. And I really need him right now to unblock a bathroom sink but he’s torn his achilles heel and it out of action for three months! I see paying a plumber on the horizon. A handyman, when he’s available, is indeed invaluable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

