Facebook Overload

Social media seemed like this new bright shiny exciting toy back in 2008 when I first joined Facebook. Reconnecting with old friends and making new ones from all around the world. Sharing parenting woes, discovering new strategies, learning about rights and entitlements for disabled children, and how to claim them.

But in recent years that shiny toy looks tired and shabby.

Last week I looked at my Facebook feed and I couldn’t see any posts by my friends. Instead it was a confusing mish mash of ads, news items, and posts by people I don’t know in groups I forgot I’d been added to.  I’m involved in so many groups and pages because I wanted to give back for all the help that was given to me. But it’s become overwhelming: that feeling that you have to help others every single day, or you’re a bad friend, a poor advocate. I know what I can do: I’m good at finding articles of interest to others, but sorting out the inevitable conflicts that happen on Facebook? I haven’t a clue. Wondering what to do has kept me awake at night, often over people I do not know.

So a year after I cut back on other social media, I’ve now cut back on Facebook too. I’ve left most of the groups I used to belong to (apologies to all my friends who added me), and I feel better already. My feed is less cluttered with depressing posts by people I don’t even know, and instead I can see news from my friends and pages I’ve liked. Why didn’t I do this before?

I’m not sure what to do next, but there could be more cuts and mutes and blocks ahead.

Sorry Facebook, you’re overloading my life with too much cr*p. And it has to stop.

 

8 thoughts on “Facebook Overload

  1. I agree with you. I have canned my page, left a lot of groups and am more low key about sharing. I have found that the disability community is all about young children (generalizing here) and no one is interested in hearing my stories about parenting a teen/young adult. Such is life. Facebook has changed over the years….. or perhaps it’s me! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

