Reasons to be cheerful – the simple things

It’s been another week of ups and downs, both of which have conspired to make me very late with this very important post with my weekly reasons to be cheerful. And yes it is important, it helps to keep me grounded and focused on the good things in my life, at least for while. It gives me a lift, and then I can tackle the problems. So here goes:

My severely disabled daughter B was very happy during the early part of the week helped by chocolate cake that she could pick up herself without it squashing into crumbs, and even a trip to Tesco was fun.

Got my van serviced, and despite its age, all it needed was a few new light bulbs. It got its annual wash and is now ready for the biannual NCT next week (the Irish MOT). Fingers crossed it passes.

My eldest daughter unexpectedly bringing me home a take away coffee on Friday. My eyes may have been moist. As I’ve said before: I hate crying, except when people are kind (or I’m grieving). Then I can’t help it. She also made me lunch, as it was a very stressful day, and I may write about that later.

You know I have a phobia of drilling, but I’m a dab hand with a screw driver (no sniggering please!) and doing little jobs like putting in door stops helps me feel more competent around the house.

Huge thanks to Fairview Parkrun, I really enjoyed my first time taking part, but I was beaten by a ten year old… 😢

That’s it for this week: head over to Lakes Single Mum for more happy posts.

 

6 thoughts on “Reasons to be cheerful – the simple things

  1. Love this ❀️
    Well done, isn’t it fabulous that running makes you feel so good (I’d rather stick needles in my eyes πŸ˜‚)

    Lol at being beaten by a 10 year old 😊 …just remember their legs are younger and less creaky πŸ˜‚

    Aud x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

